Writing 101 ….Favorite Childhood Meal

Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

Feel free to focus on any aspect of the meal, from the food you ate to the people who were there to the event it marked.

Today’s twist: Tell the story in your own distinct voice.

imagesND9REGZ9

As I sat at home last New Year’s Eve eating my dinner I couldn’t keep my mind from wondering back to when I was a child, still living at home with my parents and sister.

Every New Year’s Eve my mother would order a platter of Sloppy Joe’s.  It’s probably not the Sloppy Joe’s that you’re thinking of.  It wasn’t ground beef with a red sauce on buns. These were seriously huge sandwiches that you could barely get your mouth around to bite into.  I would anxiously await my Dad taking off the cellophane wrapper.  Thinking of the three layers of thinly sliced squares of crust-less rye bread slathered with Russian dressing piled high with corned beef, roast beef and turkey in between the bread along with creamy coleslaw makes my mouth water, even now.  The sour deli pickles were the icing on the cake.

Last New Year’s Eve I went to a local deli and ordered a corned beef sandwich with Russian dressing on the side along with coleslaw and turkey.  It wasn’t quite the same as I remember from my childhood but it was close enough.  My mouth watered as I approached the first bite just as it had when I was a child. A tiny bit of “home” remembered and recreated.

Leave a Reply

