Writing 101… no adverbs

This was the assignment:

Go to a local café, park, or public place and report on what you see. Get detailed: leave no nuance behind.  Today’s twist: write an adverb-free post. If you’d rather not write a new post, revisit and edit a previous one: excise your adverbs and replace them with strong, precise verbs

I wasn’t going to post this because I didn’t think it was very good or descriptive enough but decided to go ahead with it anyway, so hear goes…..

The loud chattering of the two ladies sitting beside me is distracting me from what I came here to do. Inside, the café is jam packed so I came outside with my coffee to enjoy the overcast cool morning and hopefully become inspired to write.  My eyes keep wondering back to an empty store across the street from where I am sitting. I have often thought how much I’d love to open some sort of a shop in this quaint downtown area.

Three cute tiny birds are pecking at the ground hoping to find a crumb while hopping and chirping their pleas for food. I hear three conversations at once and my head begins to spin. I want to shout that they should all shut up and let me write. But, of course, I won’t do that. An older man riding a bike stops and says something that I don’t quite hear. I realize he is talking to his dog who has  wondered toward me dragging his leash. I smile and take hold of the leash and am excited to see the sweet face of a Pappillion. I am thanked and off they ride….the man on his bike and dog inside the basket at the front of the bike , ears flying back from the wind.

The breeze is picking up and the sky is getting darker. The essence  of rain is in the air and  I hurry to my car with the  hope that I will beat the storm.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101… no adverbs

Leave a Reply

